Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I don't know what to do with an English degree :( Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone I've applied to study English literature at university next year, and recently I've been feeling very pressured to make some kind of decision as to what I want to do as a career after I get my degree. None of the usual careers associated with English interest me (i.e. journalism, law, etc.). Although teaching English doesn't really appeal to me, I'd love to teach drama someday but I'm still not convinced by teaching. Everyone else seems to know what they want to do, but I'm really uncertain. I was just wondering if there are any English graduates out there who are working in sectors a bit different to the 'standard' English-type jobs; or any undergraduates who have a clear idea of what they want to do? Thank you

ReputationRep:
    lol.

ReputationRep:
    Become an English Gentleman.

ReputationRep:
    I graduated from English last year, and I still have no idea what I want to do. My advice (and I really wish someone had told me this), is in all your holidays, get as much work experience as possible in fields you think you might enjoy. This can help narrow down your ideas for a career, but also give you the work experience which is essential when you graduate. Also, if you like drama, find a drama society at uni and do that, so if you decide to do teaching, you have that to talk about. Why not ask your local school if you could help out one day or one afternoon/morning a week when there are drama lessons, see if that could be what you want to do.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by draikzer)
    Become an English Gentleman.
    Ah, I wish... that would be quite a career

ReputationRep:
    Well I for one plan to do a law conversion afterwards, so if that tickles your fancy...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Zebrastripes)