Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a first year maths student at Portsmouth Uni and (due to circumstances out of my control) I have failed the Mathematical Thinking unit (comprised of two relatively small and simple pieces or coursework).

Will I really have to retake the whole year for this one unit? This is easily the smallest unit of around 5 we do this year.

A panicked Kudos92.

ReputationRep:
    No I shouldn't think so. You should be allowed to retake the failed coursework (probably replaced with an exam) in the retake period in Summer. And then if you fail that you may be allowed to drag the unit into second year. Take a look in your course hand books about what the procedure is, or on Victory as that should have some info on it.

Hope this helps

ReputationRep:
    You may have the chance to resubmit - speak to your lecturers when you go back.

ReputationRep:
    At my uni the policy is you get 1 chance to resubmit, with marks capped at a maximum of 50%. If you fail at the second attempt then you normally have the re-do the module again, whether that be in your second year or having to redo the whole first year (everywhere is different so check with your tutor). They should have really given you the information on what to do next when you had your marks back.

ReputationRep: