Turn on thread page Beta

GS IBD Interview watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone, just got invited to the 1st round for GS IBD Summer Internship. Anyone got some info/tips on this in particular? I've got some past finance experience so I guess it could get quite technical. How is the numerical/verbal test? Standard shl? Is it true this one is conducted without a calculator?

Merry X-mas!

ReputationRep:
    numerical test is non calculator, SHL style questions but with easier numbers.

If you can do things like 245/7 in 3 seconds or less then it will be easier than other tests.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by acies)
    numerical test is non calculator, SHL style questions but with easier numbers.

If you can do things like 245/7 in 3 seconds or less then it will be easier than other tests.
    Are there any "easy" numerical tests around which are similar to these for practicing without a calc?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mortarmaker)
    Are there any "easy" numerical tests around which are similar to these for practicing without a calc?
    http://www.kent.ac.uk/careers/tests/mathstest.htm

One of their numerical tests is a non calc based one.

Other than that if you practice the calc ones, and at the same time practice your mental maths it should be fine.

For mental maths, if you go to my site, on the right hand side theres a link to an online mental maths site that lets you practice and time yourself.

ReputationRep:
    I heard that GS stopped doing numericals this year. Can anyone that actually went to a GS IBD AC this year for a grad or summer position confirm this?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mr.Carter)
    I heard that GS stopped doing numericals this year. Can anyone that actually went to a GS IBD AC this year for a grad or summer position confirm this?
    Presumably only for First Round interviews?

ReputationRep: