Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Santa brought me a wad of cash to spend on a computer Watch

ReputationRep:
    What would you recommend? I have about £800 to spend if needed but would prefer to spend a lot less so I have some left over for new clothes. I'm undecided on whether I want a laptop or a desktop. I have a *****y 3 year old laptop at the minute but it sits on my desk full time. Which is better do you think, laptop or desktop? I also don't mind building a desktop computer if I could maybe get more for my money.

I want to use my computer for recording/mixing/producing, playing football manager, storing/playing masses of music, and surfing tinterwebs. What specs do I need?

cheeeeeers, and merry christmas

ReputationRep:
    Build your own desktop

ReputationRep:
    I second that!

ReputationRep:
    What sort of things would I need to buy to do that though? I am a complete novice. What sort of specs should I be looking at and how much should I spend?

ReputationRep:
    When I built my computer I wanted the best I could possibly get, so I hit up some of the computer forums and asked their advice.
    Once I had a list of the parts I needed I went shopping online and sourced the best prices. I could find.
    Ended up with an amazing computer for just over £1000 delivered to my house in lot's of little boxes :cool:

ReputationRep:
    How serious is your "recording/mixing/producing"? Just, that's gonna be the most resource intensive task - and, TBH, it's not that recourse intensive compared to a lot of things, like, say multi-cam HD video editing or something. Football manager, music storage/playing and internet is nothing.

You'll probably be better served getting not so fast a computer but some better audio gear if it's a serious thing. Say - a good pair of Open headphones, in ear monitors, 2 decent field monitors, a decent sub and a decent amp. What audio gear do you have already?