Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    As an aspiring barrister, I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for good pro bono legal work that I can start getting involved with soon (i am a second year lawyer) and that will look good on the CV. Recruiters are always looking for something that 'stands out'.

I am of course aware of FRU and will start the training for that asap.

I hope this thread could be of general use and a good place to share ideas, since so many people are in my position.

ReputationRep:
    I'm on the BPTC at the moment and they have lots of opportunties to participate in pro bono work.

I think it really depends on what kind of law you want to do. If you want to do criminal things like the Innocence Project or volunteering in prisons is a good bet.

I want to do commercial work and there is very little pro bono work out there with a commercial slant. Any ideas?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by andymt)
    As an aspiring barrister, I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for good pro bono legal work that I can start getting involved with soon (i am a second year lawyer) and that will look good on the CV. Recruiters are always looking for something that 'stands out'.

I am of course aware of FRU and will start the training for that asap.

I hope this thread could be of general use and a good place to share ideas, since so many people are in my position.