The Student Room Group

Crash course in investment banking and consulting - HELP!!

Hi All,

I am currently studying economics at LSE. This may have been picked up in different threads, but I'm in desperate need of an investment banking crash course. I got swamped last term at university and haven't had a chance to do ANY applications. I'm trying to do them now, but I don't have enough information on banking and could really do with knowing the most useful sources.

I have done the basic works so I've checked out thevault.com, wikipedia and the other useful links on TSR. I think sales and trading look best but I'd really like more bout the best sources for writing my app (CV and cover letter), what you think good structures are for them. Also, how to think about answering the competency qns on investment banking and stuff. I hate those!!

Any and all help muchos appreciado!!

I am also going to apply to consulting since I reckon many of them are still open

Before everyone attacks me for leaving it too late, I really have been overloaded with lost of stuff.

Thank you to everyone in advance.

Pete
Reply 1
This guy (pauln182) posted some useful stuff to help you write your covering letters and differentiate yourself and so on. His posts are pretty long, so I'm going to upload as separate messages so I dont get confused.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MESSAGE 1
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Re: The "Is this university/course good enough for banking/consultancy?" thread
Originally Posted by asdfg0987