Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Dear all,

I got an offer from MSc Actuarial Management from Cass and MSc Economics/(Finance) from Edinburgh.
    Economics/(Finance) programme is part of SGPE (Scottish Graduate Programme in Economics).
    I have worked as a pension actuary for 2 years in Korea and I want to get a job in UK (if impossible, HK or Australia).
    I am pursuing these MS programmes for building up my background in UK so that I can get a job in these countries.
    The programme of Cass seems well suited for me but I cannot ignore the reputation of Edinburgh.
    What do you think is better programme for getting a job in UK?
    Any comment would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rakheon)
    Dear all,

I got an offer from MSc Actuarial Management from Cass and MSc Economics/(Finance) from Edinburgh.
    Economics/(Finance) programme is part of SGPE (Scottish Graduate Programme in Economics).
    I have worked as a pension actuary for 2 years in Korea and I want to get a job in UK (if impossible, HK or Australia).
    I am pursuing these MS programmes for building up my background in UK so that I can get a job in these countries.
    The programme of Cass seems well suited for me but I cannot ignore the reputation of Edinburgh.
    What do you think is better programme for getting a job in UK?
    Any comment would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Firstly, do you want to continue as an actuary? If so, I think the obvious choice would be Cass, but even otherwise I would still advise Cass.

The reason being I think you overestimate the reputation of Edinburgh. Edinburgh is a top ten uni, however, its esteem is less significant at the postgrad level, and in financial services recruitment Cass is actually stronger than Edinburgh.