Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I'm currently studying as part of an exchange year at Washington State University. I was wondering if anyone knew anything / had experience getting a job for the summer after their exchange year or a job lined up for after they graduate?

I finish the first week of May & don't need to return till Sept so would like to possibly do some sort of summer camp job or possibly a summer intern-ship which could lead onto a job after I graduate or just a job lined up on the conditions of results of degree?

ReputationRep:
    Don't you need a work visa?

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I think you're going to need a work visa...

I'm also going to study in America for 2011. What's it like?? Are American kids any different to British kids? Are Americans generally accepting of the British??

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by theorb21)
    Hi,

I'm also going to study in America for 2011. What's it like?? Are American kids any different to British kids? Are Americans generally accepting of the British??

Thanks
    I'm American. We like Brits, especially the ones who sound like Jude Law and Orlando Bloom.

I can't speak for everyone, but I feel instantly connected to Brits, Australians, the Irish, etc. Language is the biggest cultural barrier, but that's not a problem for us, so, I think you'll have no problem making connections and making friends.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

Thanks
    Yeah you'll need a work visa if you want to work, unless you get paid under-the-table (i.e., tutoring or something).

European exchange students who visited my high school testified to how much... "larger" America is--in pretty much every sense. The buildings, the roads, the cars, and, of course, the people.