Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Are there any current medicine students who would be able to help me by answering a few short questions about the increased tuition fees?
    I am a journalism student writing a feature about the increased tuition fees and how they will affect medicine in the future.
    Your time would be a great help
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jo-90)
    Are there any current medicine students who would be able to help me by answering a few short questions about the increased tuition fees?
    I am a journalism student writing a feature about the increased tuition fees and how they will affect medicine in the future.
    Why don't you just put the questions in a post and see who responds? People can always PM you their answers if they don't want to post them here.

ReputationRep:
    what are the questions?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jo-90)
    No effect. The almost guaranteed high salary with the limit of £9,000 on fees a year will not result in people being turned off medicine at all. IMO of course.

ReputationRep:
    Well the questions are basically just looking at what effect the raised tuition fees will have on medicine:

1. With medical students facing £70,000 debt at the end of their 5 years, do you think this will affect who applies to do a medical degree?
    (i.e. will those from poorer backgrounds (despite their grades and potential) still apply to study medicine?)

2. Due to the large debt that these medical students will face, how do you think the NHS will be affected in later years? Will they be able to afford these new doctors? (will the NHS in the long run be affected?)

3. For current medical student- Would you have gone into medicine still if you had faced £70,000 debt?