Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,
    Currently in year 11 at a high achieving comprehensive school.
    I'm studying 11 GCSEs: English Language, English Lit, Maths, Statistics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, German (the school I go to has a 'languages for all' policy), ICT, Geography and History, all of which I'm predicted A/A*, although I'm slightly underachieving.
    I wish to pursue a career with science, preferably healthcare, because the sciences are my strongest subjects. I have also applied to study Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths at my sixth form...

I did my work experience with a local pharmacy, in relation to my career plan.

Now, I also recently did my mock exams, and I seem to have done well.
    I had previously thought of going on to do medicine, but I thought the grades were out of reach in relation to coursework and exams I have already done/am doing, but the mock exams have changed my thoughts again regarding the future.

Does anyone know roughly what i'll need to get to study either medicine or pharmacy at a university?

ReputationRep:
    Pharmacy is less competitive than medicine.
    Some medical schools are pretty 'GCSE Nazi' (Birmingham springs to mind - don't bother if you don't have 8A*) but TSR has a lot of helpful articles on this so you can basically avoid the med schools that are like this if you don't do so well.

By the sounds, you'll be fine as you'll probably come out with mostly As, some A*
    Do as well as you can in your AS but for medicine more importantly - do heaps of work experience.

In the end, it depends how well other candidates do. I doubt you'll have problems with Pharm so much though. There's so many interviews and external admissions tests (UKCAT) for medicine that make all the difference.

ReputationRep: