Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    As I would wish to do a masters programme in economics in Great Britain, I learned that I need to do a graduate diploma first. On this note, I would like to ask you for some help with choosing the universites I should apply to. So what I'm loooking for is a course that would prepare me (and serve as a good reference) for a decent MSc/MPhil, after which I will probably want to proceed to a PhD.

As far as my academic profile is concerned, I finished my undergraduate studies in political science at the University of Ljubljana, Slovenia (average grade: 8.82 out of 10, was in top 5% of my class at least in my junior and senior years, received the faculty award for best diploma thesis), where I am also doing my masters in political theory (my grade halfway through the course: 10 out of 10). Along with my studies, I am currently also a project coordinator at a research institute in the field of social and political studies. All in all, I obviously did not do much quantitative courses (just basic stats and a course on foundations of micro and macroeconomics), so I am probably not eligible for postgraduate courses in economics at the top universities (Oxbridge, LSE, Warwick, UCL).

Considering the fact that I do have an economics bacground, my research interests are still quite undeveloped, although I am pretty sure I want to study other things along with straight economics, such as political economy and history (history of economic thought/economic history). I know this is relatively irrelevant at the level of a graduate diploma, I am just trying to say that I would prefer to not be stuck with only mathematicians and econometricians for a whole year of my life. But on the other hand, I guess an economics department such as that at SOAS would severely limit the list of universities I could choose from for my masters degree.

ReputationRep: