Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is it possible to take the rest of the year off from Uni? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm in my 2nd year at University. Well, somehow I managed to make it... This year didn't start particularly well; so far, this year, I haven't got on well with anyone, haven't settled in to the second year, I've taken an overdose and was hospitalised, I threatened to kill myself on several more occasions, and I'm currently being treated by the doctor (hurrah), but this is taking too long. I was like that before I came to University, but I have become worse and worse...

Hence, I don't think I'm gonna pass my exams, at this rate. Or even survive until the end of the year... lol. I want to get treated before I take my exams, as I know I will fail otherwise, but the doctor doesn't seem to see the urgency of this. I'm not doing well at all, and it isn't because I'm whining about how hard my course is or anything, I just can't concentrate because I'm too depressed. If it wasn't for my illness I would be a valuable student, but at the moment I'm doing terribly, and I fear I will carry this reputation of a bad student just because of this. If it wasn't for my parents (who put me in Uni in the first place), I would have asked to take a gap year after my first year to get better.

So, I want to know... is it possible to... you know, discontinue studies for the rest of the year? I'm in desperate need of a break. I simply cannot continue like this.

ReputationRep:
    You probably need to check your uni's policy but I imagine you can go on a leave of absence if you submit evidence from your doctor. If they're not seeing the urgency of getting better then I'd either keep going back or see if you can see a different one.

ReputationRep: