Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying English and Philosophy and so far have unconditional offers for Sheffield and Liverpool. Was wondering which university held more 'prestige' I guess, as well as being better overall?

ReputationRep:
    Go and visit each university. Then find out which course suits you more, which location suits you more and which you will ultimately be happier with, forget about prestige.

ReputationRep:
    'Prestige' is BS, go and check them out yourself and check the course content. Although I know little about philosophy, I've heard that Sheffield runs a very interesting course.

ReputationRep:
    I guess they're both about the same in terms of reputation but I would go for Sheffield. English department is great, don't know much about Philosophy but I did a 1st year module and it was really good and well organised. Sheffield's accomodation is amazing, as is the Union. It has a really good atmosphere, loads of sports, societies and events. Really nice (safe) location, right next to town.

ReputationRep:
    I was wondering more out of curiosity, my final decision will definitely be made after visiting the universities! Was firmly set on Liverpool, but Sheffield seems more homey and nicer in general. Still very confused, but thanks all for the advice :-)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by joshed)
    Go and visit each university. Then find out which course suits you more, which location suits you more and which you will ultimately be happier with, forget about prestige.
    This.

ReputationRep:
    Sheffield holds more prestige I would say, though both are russel universities. However, it sounds like you prefer Liverpool, which is more important as you will be living there for three years (at least). They are both good universities, and in terms of job prospects I can't imagine the difference between the two would be significant.

ReputationRep: