The Student Room Group

Physics Course Requirements for Degree?

Heya!

Okay, I admit degree's are quite a few years away as I am just beginning to choose my A-Level subject choices.. but I would like some advice :smile:

I'm choosing
Physics
Maths
English Lit
History

I know these subjects don't really 'go together' but they're purely what I enjoy. I also understand the competitive world of journalism and english etc. so I can't really seeing myself persuing this as a career.. meerly a hobby for life :smile:
So physics is where I envision myself but only 'envision' I don't actually know what I want to do when I'm older (as many sixteen year olds don't)

So how about physics degrees at say oxbridge? or ucl? Do you NEED chemistry or further mathematics.. anyone studying them did you need such subjects?

Thankkkkks, I'm so confused with everyone telling me different things :confused:
Reply 1
Original post by Heyheyehy
Heya!

Okay, I admit degree's are quite a few years away as I am just beginning to choose my A-Level subject choices.. but I would like some advice :smile:

I'm choosing
Physics
Maths
English Lit
History

I know these subjects don't really 'go together' but they're purely what I enjoy. I also understand the competitive world of journalism and english etc. so I can't really seeing myself persuing this as a career.. meerly a hobby for life :smile:
So physics is where I envision myself but only 'envision' I don't actually know what I want to do when I'm older (as many sixteen year olds don't)

So how about physics degrees at say oxbridge? or ucl? Do you NEED chemistry or further mathematics.. anyone studying them did you need such subjects?

Thankkkkks, I'm so confused with everyone telling me different things :confused:

I'm currently in my first year doing Physics at Leeds Uni and I did further maths but not chemistry.