Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Has anyone ever tried Yogalates ?
    There is a class at my gym and I can't decide whether it would be worth joining it cause I want to lose a few pounds of the christmas weight

ReputationRep:
    My Auntie did it and said it was fun but didn't dramatically lose weight.

ReputationRep:
    Yep i tried it but as chlobofro said it didnt help me loose weight,
    it did help me relax and become more flexible though

ReputationRep:
    If your only aim is to lose fat this sounds like a ridiculously inefficient use of ones time and resources

Do some cardio

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by a_t)
    If your only aim is to lose fat this sounds like a ridiculously inefficient use of ones time and resources

Do some cardio
    I'd agree with this.

However, there are different types of yoga. I've been doing bikram yoga for the past two months and am really enjoying it. I thought it would be easy and that it wouldn't make any real difference to my body, but by the end of the class, I'm sweaty, tired, sore and puffed out. I have lost weight too and am much more flexible and happier. So I do bikram five to six times a week, go power walking (and walk whoever I can; ie I walk to yoga from work instead of getting a lift or taking the bus), running and eat a healthy diet and this keeps me in pretty good shape.

I used to do pilates (my uni provided it for free, my favourite price) and didn't see any improvements from it. It didn't wear me out at all. Ok, I only did it once a week. I also did 'yoga' (whatever style that was, also provided for free from uni) and hated it, but I love bikram yoga

It's important to remember that with any activity you have to do it as often as you can to see some results

ReputationRep:
    That's a very fun word to say. Yogalates.

ReputationRep: