Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Prozac and concentration... Watch

Hi y'all.

I was diagnosed with depression a couple of weeks ago, and have been on prozac for 9 days now. It's all well and good so far, haven't been feeling much worse the last week as the GP said I probably would when I started, but I have noticed that my concentration has dropped considerably. This is a problem, as I am now in my final year; I have a fair chunk of my dissertation to do this vacation; and I have exams to revise for. I am teetering on a 2:1 at the moment, so I can't afford to drop any marks.

Was just wondering, for those who have been on prozac, have any of you had similar problems? If so, was it short-lived? And if not, would there be any way to ease myself off the medication within the next 3 weeks or so, in order for it not to have too much of an effect on my exams? I really don't want my concentration to have an effect on me during this crucial time of my life.

Thanks for the advice.

Anon.

ReputationRep:
    I'm close to starting using the stuff... curious as to the side effects!

(We call it a Holiday in the UK, not vacation.)

*Bump*

(Original post by Danamaganza)

(We call it a Holiday in the UK, not vacation.)
    The universities call it vacation, soo...
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    It's normal. It's also stupid of you to have taken them now, you'll be experiencing (and already are) a number of side-effects which might hinder your studies. On the bright side, you'll begin feeling better in about 4 weeks, Prozac takes time, but it also has a longer half-life, which is good when you decide to quit.