Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

URGENT Co-Op student account overdraft help Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    OK. So it goes a bit like this. Co-Op does not have a "graduate account", so if you graduate after 3 years, the student account is supposed to be extended for 12 months after graduation, then the overdraft is set at 0 unless otherwise prearranged.

I suddently got a letter while I was on holiday telling me I need to repay my overdraft by the 31st of Dec (ie tomorrow), this is despite having a letter when I graduated in June telling me I have 12 months to pay it off.

Oh, and I just flew back tonight from abroad. Not a pleasant welcome home.

Obviously I'm going to the bank ASAP tomorrow but just wondering if anyone here have had a similar problem with the Co-Op and also I'm unsure what happens if the overdraft is cancelled and the overdrawn balance becomes "informal". I've never gone over the limit before.

Thx

ReputationRep:
    I would recommend that you transfer your money into a bank that does include a graduate account overdraft. Look into all the major banks and what they have to offer then work as hard as you can to transfer the money tomorrow.

Hope this helps!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by The_Jakal)
    I would recommend that you transfer your money into a bank that does include a graduate account overdraft. Look into all the major banks and what they have to offer then work as hard as you can to transfer the money tomorrow.

Hope this helps!
    Well the crisis has been averted for now at least. I complained that the banks action was a serious breach of trust and their own terms and conditions (I took 2 letters, one dated in June saying that I have 12 months after graduation, and 1 in Dec saying I had until the 31st). They told me it was an "automated computer error" and agreed to stick to the original 12 months overdraft after graduation with immediate effect.