The Student Room Group

access course assessment test

first of all Hii im new to this so sorry if this has already been asked

basically i applied for a access course a couple of weeks back and received a letter asking me to arrange a appointment for a assessment test. I was just wondering if the test is 1.difficult 2. what's involved 3.what the pass rate is

im too bad at maths but my English really needs improvement on the letter it said there would be a maths test online and a handwritten English test, does anyone no what these will involve such as will the maths involve algebra averages or any of these sort of thing and what will the english test be like i have tryed the exel level 3 test but they seem too easy so i dont no if im doing the right tests or not http://www.edexcel.com/iwantto/Pages/try-onscreen.aspx i do the E3 Practice Test
is this the right one to be doing i havnt been asked anything about area or anything else that i would think is level 3 maths i will be very grateful for any help thanks
P.S. is there anywhere else that i can do practice test at the level that will be expected at the assessment test

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
When i did the maths practice exam i just used the BBC Bitesize revision site. The exam was very easy and me (along with quite a few others i imagine) scored 100%

The English test i took involved reading two passages of text followed by 3 questions. The first question about passage A, the second about passage B and the last question was something about how the two passages compared or differed from each other.

I would recommend the Bitesize site, as what you will be tested on will be no harder than GCSE level work and i dont think they are expecting you to write essays, they just want to see a competent grasp of maths and english.
Reply 2
Just to throw a different opinion into the mix, I applied to a Science Access course.