This discussion is closed.
xcats_55
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
I'm a GCSE student trying to choose my A-level options and I'm quite interested in further maths but I'm concerned I won't be able to do it. I've heard that A-level maths is really difficult and although I enjoy the subject I havent had a great teacher for the last couple of years and I've lost alot of my previous confidence in maths. How difficult in further maths and how good do you have to be in order to do it?
devilschild
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by xcats_55)
I'm a GCSE student trying to choose my A-level options and I'm quite interested in further maths but I'm concerned I won't be able to do it. I've heard that A-level maths is really difficult and although I enjoy the subject I havent had a great teacher for the last couple of years and I've lost alot of my previous confidence in maths. How difficult in further maths and how good do you have to be in order to do it?
its not necessarily harder its just quite a lot more work! At our school we cant take further maths unless we have an A* or very good A at GCSE I think nething below that and you might struggle but its worth giving it a go. Even if you decided you didnt want to go on and do the extra maths modules after finishing maths A level the time wouldnt have been wasted because you've still got maths A level early so its out of the way. The exam boards tend to be quite flexible in which modules you can take towards maths A level and further maths so you can do more pure/stats/mechanics depending on your strengths.
gzftan
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
A-level maths is a lot of work..by all accounts. I was also considering doing further maths....but the thought of half of my lessons being maths kind of put me off. Why don't you have a talk with some of the maths teachers in your school and hopefully they can give you some advice.

G
Camford
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago