Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'll try keep this brief, I'm currently in my first year at London Met university studying English Language, and I hate it. The course is an embarrasment. I feel like I have nothing in common with anybody, there are only about three other people ON THE COURSE who share my common ground (ie. gone straight from enjoying English at A Level to carrying it on at University). I saw the work my friend is doing at Kings College of London and it's a lot harder, it's more in-depth. Currently I'm scripting a presentation on a washing machine for a Business Communication module. It takes the piss. It's honestly the *****est educational establishment I've ever experienced. At my halls it's full of stuck up pretentious people, one of the better friends I made at my halls has left because he got mugged on the doorstep to the hall flat by a gang in hoodies.

I'm currently at home because I get so sick of being there. I miss my friends, I lost my girlfriend because of moving to London, and I'm starting to hate the city, I'm starting to hate my halls and I'm just pissed off and fed up with it all. I'm currently considering my options, I (clearly) don't want to stay at London Met, but I want to carry on doing English Language, or possibly English Language and Linguistics. Anywhere at a more reputable university. What pisses me off more is that I didn't do as well as I could've at A Level. I got an A in one module and a B in the other module in English, but it was dragged down by the C that I got at AS level. So I ended up at A level with CCD (C- English, C- ICT, D- Music). I don't know whether to try and get into another Uni before 2006 entry, or whether to live out this year at London Met and start again in Sept. 2006. Pretty stuck and fed up, anybody else in this situation?

ReputationRep:
    AFAIK, standard offers for English are pretty high. Have you considered reapplying somewhere else while resitting some A level modules?