Thinking about career, need help Watch

Abh1shek
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I'm in my first year at Warwick, studying Economics. For the past few weeks, I've been seriously considering what I plan to do after my undergrad degree. I've done a lot of reading, research, reading around the internet, talking to people. I read a lot on investment banking, as that's what most people in my course seem to be interested in. However, done some reading, and it seems IBD's not for me. I'd like to have a job where at least I get be a little creative, even if the work hours are stressful.

Sales/Trading in an IB also seems quiet interesting, but I'm not what the working hours are like, and what sort of work analysts do.

Consultancy really seems to have caught my attention. I like travelling, and I like the fact that it involves more hands on work, more responsibility, and possibly, better working hours. However, it seems getting into the Top 3 is really difficult.

Basically, I love doing Economics. Main areas of interest are Game Theory, Probably, Monetary Economics. I'm all about the Maths, naturally good with numbers. That's my skill set.

I'm considering Sales/Trading and Consultancy. Is it possible to apply for both? Which would be a better job to intern at? I'm in my first year, so I'm guessing I still have some time. I really wanna focus on one of them, and do my best to get a job. I'd also add that I'd like to do an MBA from a top US school, so I'm guessing consultancy would be better for that.

Any suggestions as to what seems a better fit for me? What are the work hours/salaries like? More importantly, what sort of work do analysts end up doing?
Imperial Blitz
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
An actuary ?

However you spell it …
Overmars
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago