derexel
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
I'm currently in a bind right now-My maths isn't necessarily stellar right now, and I had dropped from the lower tier of the advanced class to the upper tier of the normal-paced class. I do admit that I had procrastinated in the first month and had no idea what an (I)GCSE was. I do sorely regret my (lack of) decision regarding that; I could have easily returned to the faster paced-lower tier class if I wanted to (My friend did that earlier on). I'm currently in my 2nd year of the IGCSE.

I'm planning on taking Economics HL in IB next year, but I have heard from my friends that it is of utmost importance to take Maths HL in order to compliment the Economics HL choice, otherwise it would be pointless to pick Economics HL, as most universities would reject you because you are in Maths SL. I have consulted with my teachers and they have said that it would be (very) difficult for someone from the standard class to do Maths HL, but it has been done before.

Exactly how hard is the Maths HL?

Also, would this work? How hard would this be? I'm planning on taking English HL, History HL, and Economics HL right now. The safe option right now is Maths at SL, along with the Language and Science. However, I would like to move Maths to HL to accompany the other 3 HLs, instead of swapping English, History or Economics down to SL, in order to play it safe-in the situation that I would have to (unfortunately) drop Maths HL down to SL.)
arrowhead
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by derexel)
Oh its hard. I took it for one week and dropped it, I didn't need the damn thing. My friend who is now at Stanford studying Maths (you can tell she really loves Maths) is a genius! She got a 6 in Maths HL. My other friend who was more-than-above-average, border-line amazing at Maths was praying to all the Gods in the world before her IB exam for a 4 to scrape through.