This discussion is closed.
Tnacilppa
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
Hi,

I am going to re-apply to Cambridge for English. But I am also going to make sure I have a better contingency plan this time!

Basically I was wondering which universities are considered to be the BEST for English. I don't mean the obvious choices like Duhram, York etc. For example, at Sheffield history is very good under Ian Kershaw but it is not considered one of the "top" unis otherwise.

Perhaps this is an artificial distinction I am drawing...?

I want to go into teaching English, either as a lecturer or getting a professorship etc. So even if I don't study at Cambridge as an undergrad I will probably apply for an MPhil or PhD there later. This is why I want to focus on a good department rather than just a good "all round" university.

Any info from people who know about this kind of thing would be great.

Thanks,

Adam
J.S.
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by Tnacilppa)
Hi,

I am going to re-apply to Cambridge for English. But I am also going to make sure I have a better contingency plan this time!

Basically I was wondering which universities are considered to be the BEST for English. I don't mean the obvious choices like Duhram, York etc. For example, at Sheffield history is very good under Ian Kershaw but it is not considered one of the "top" unis otherwise.

Perhaps this is an artificial distinction I am drawing...?

I want to go into teaching English, either as a lecturer or getting a professorship etc. So even if I don't study at Cambridge as an undergrad I will probably apply for an MPhil or PhD there later. This is why I want to focus on a good department rather than just a good "all round" university.

Any info from people who know about this kind of thing would be great.

Thanks,

Adam