I'm a new driver, should I buy an automatic car just to get me from A - B....?

Watch
This discussion is closed.
markyp
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
I'm not too bothered about driving to be honest, if I could, I wouldn't bother driving. But considering I live in a rural area, and the only means of transport is the bus, I think it may be more practical to start driving. I was thinking of getting an automatic car, because I have driven in a manual before and to be honest, I don't really like it, especially when it stalls. Anyway, how much more would an automatic car cost me? And, would insurance cost me the same as a teenager, I'm 22 years old?
aarora
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
Automatic cars are usually more expensive BUT I find manual cars more difficult to drive and consider them to be such an effort. I'd deffo go for an automatic if you can afford it.
markyp
Rep:
?
(Original post by aarora)
Automatic cars are usually more expensive BUT I find manual cars more difficult to drive and consider them to be such an effort. I'd deffo go for an automatic if you can afford it.
Well my dad said he would put some money towards a car with me, so in that sense I'm fortunate. I obviously don't want anything too expensive, just a little run around.
rY4uGD1fMzBj4xe2
Badges: 14
Report 9 years ago
No, you should man the **** up and learn to drive a real car.

Leave the automatics to the American's.
Elfy1
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
You're the one that would be driving it, it's up to you I prefer automatics, but then you need to be careful with solely driving a manual car because it's easy to forget how to drive a manual- so go ahead, buy the automatic, but get lots of practise in manual cars too
Einheri
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago