kristienc
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
Hello all,

I'm very new to this site so please bare with me. I am a third year student at Hull studying Politics and International Relations. Basically, at college I had no clue what I wanted to do at University, I just wanted to go, so I picked the subject that I was doing the best in at A-Level.

I have 5 A-Levels to date in English Language and Literature, Government and Politics, Psychology, Law and General Studies. I also have 12 G.C.S.E's including the standard English and Maths which is needed on most PGCE courses.

Basically, I applied for a few PGCE's and got rejected because my degree wasn't specific enough. My degree has some aspects of politics, law, and history.

The only one to accept my application and offer me an interview was Sheffield Hallam, for the PGCE in Learning and Skills (with the chance to specify in ESOL or numeracy/literacy). I thought, wow great someone accepted me! Then I looked at the website : 'We normally interview all applicants'.

Basically :

* Is my degree or other qualifications relevant enough or am I wasting my time?
* Has anyone else been accepted onto this course in the past or doing it now and what degree did you have, was it again relevant?
* What careers could I go onto? The website is not entirely clear. I chose the course as I am interested mostly in working in colleges and the ESOL aspect attracted me.

I'm so nervous. I'm living independantly and come July I will only have a part-time job and no where to live, no jobs have accepted me despite many interviews and this is something that I REALLY want to do. I can live with my mum for no longer than a few months really as her flat is tiny, and this is my last chance.

Thank you all very much for your help
Naida
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago