Easiest and cheapest way to create a website with user profiles?

Watch this thread
Neil_K
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hi folks, I have a business idea (which I cannot reveal fully due to people potentially stealing my idea) ...though what I can say is that this idea is something to do with musicians, and will change the face of how musicians go about pursuing their musical careers should it take off.

I am looking to create a website with user profiles on it.

People will then be able to search other users' profiles via a dropdown list to search for the criteria they want to search for.

I am not technical when it comes to web design. I have the ideas, and need someone with the skills to program the site or offer me advice on how I can do it myself cheaply and easily.

Would Wordpress be any good for this? Also, how do I go about creating a site with proper domain name with Wordpress, and not just www.joeblogs.wordpress.com???

I don't have a big budget for this right now, but may be prepared to offer a percentage of future profits in return for your programming skills. The long-term potential of this project is mind-blowing.

Let's discuss this further...reply here or PM me with your answers.

Cheers.
yaravel
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 11 years ago
Well you could try Google Friend Connect.

Here's the link: http://www.google.com/friendconnect/admin/tos/

I never tried it but have seen it in several websites and I guess as it is from google is probably user friendly and simple to integrate.
VictoriaG
Badges: 1
Rep:
Report 11 years ago
http://www.wix.com/
I've seen some good things from this.
laser
Badges: 10
Rep:
Report 11 years ago
Maybe buddypress (WordPress plugin) is what you want.