Work Experience Thread Watch

laura_802
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I thought I would create a thread for everyone to share their stories about applying for work experience and work experience placements. This doesn't include vacations schemes as there is already a thread for that.

I'm a first year non-law student currently *trying* to gain legal work experience. Currently I would say I've applied to around 8 firms, had two rejections and one 'you've been put on our file.'

I'm just wondering how many applications it took everyone else to gain work experience? And whether it was in an international/national/regional/highstreet firm.
Lell
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I think it's really good to make use of your connections, if you have any. I got two work experience placements last year through friends parents/ friends of friends.
laura_802
Rep:
?
(Original post by Lell)
I think it's really good to make use of your connections, if you have any. I got two work experience placements last year through friends parents/ friends of friends.
Yeah I know a few people who have done that. Unfortunately I don't have any connections like that though. Are you a second year? x
Lell
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Nope, I'm an oldie Currently doing the LPC.
laura_802
Rep:
?
Oh I see. Did you get any work experience in your first year at all? And what sort of firms did you eventually get work experience in. Sorry for all the questions, but I'm getting a bit disheartened at the moment and am trying to gauge other peoples experiences.
Lell
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Nope, first year was a looong time ago for me! I got work experience in a high street firm and in a regional commercial firm, the latter as a friend's dad is a partner there.
Laura_93
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Hi,
i recently done a weeks work experience at the school of pharmacy, what do you think is the minimum amount of work experience that unis look for??
Laura_93
Rep:
?