Home or just a place to study? Watch

kashiya
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Since the terms in Cambridge are so short I keep wondering how you can actually make yourself feel there at home?

From the information in other threads I understand that only few people choose to stay in college during break-time. This means that students spend more than half a year out of Cambridge. I am an international mature to-be-student and I had my share of traveling and living in different places and was hoping to find a place, where I could feel at home, a place i could call 'mine', at least for some time... Is that at all possible in Cambridge? How do you cope with this constant back and forth?

Would be great if you could share your experience ^^"
User592005
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
i'm an international student aiming for cambridge as well (though it'll take some time, still an undergrad), and i was worried that by just doing a MASt i would miss out on the true cambridge experience, if there's such a thing. so right now i'm planning to do an MASt and then a PhD at cambridge, though it won't be that easy of course

anyway, just wanted to say i feel your concerns and am interested in the replies.
dd4483
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I know what you mean, its annoying.

But then again, you do have the option of living in your accomodation all year round. I've heard mature colleges are good if you choose to do this, since a lot of students are postgraduates who have much longer terms.
Topaz_eyes
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Maybe for postgrads you can stay all year round, but I don't know any undergrads who do - including international students. In my college the freshers get 3x10 week contracts, and unless you have a good reason no-one stays for longer.

I definitely feel at home in Cambridge, despite the short terms. Time feels very different, and a few weeks into Michaelmas I felt like I'd been here forever!