Turn on thread page Beta

Do I still have a chance of Cambridge? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently a year 12 student studying for his AS levels this summer and have my heart set on a choral award at cambridge university.
    My teachers say I have the academic capability, I should get 5 strong As at AS, (Philosophy, English Literature, History, Politics and Music).
    However during the immediate lead up to my GCSE's I had a very turbulent time at home which led to depression. Consequently I did not focus academically and put very little into my GCSEs. I came out with 10 As and a B. I know that these are not "Oxbridge grades" yet my teachers and I agree that it clearly is not a reflection of my academic ability.
    I was a chorister at Gloucester Cathedral and have been told I have the vocal/musical ability, I am just concerned as to whether it is even worth applying with my GCSE grades.

Many thanks

ReputationRep:
    Here.

ReputationRep:
    Yes! You have a chance - Cambridge have an ease of access scheme designed for this very situation; they use it to help people who have had a hard home life etc. apply. Have a look on the website and ask your school about it. Also, your school should mention any extenuating circumstances in your reference.

Also, 10 As is still a very impressive achievement - your grades might not be those of a standard Oxbridge, but they're still excellent.

Don't lose heart & apply anyway; it's only one of your five choices after all.

(I got a C at AS and still got a place...)

ReputationRep:
    I think it would be worth you applying (it does depend a bit on your subject, what do you want to do?).

As I understand it Cambridge tend to go more for the AS results than for GCSEs. So you need really strong UMS at AS: 90%+ ideally.

It sounds as though your teachers could also mention in your reference that your GCSEs don't really reflect your true ability.