Hit a weight plateau Watch

Courtenayyy
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
About 9 months ago I cut my calorie intake to around 1500 calories a day and it has dropped and dropped since then. Now I'm at the point where I'll only eat between 800 and 1000 calories a day. I didn't even notice I was doing it (and definitely didnt intend on it!), I just didn't get hungry and felt really ill if i ate more than usual. (I'm a student so eating less has had a good impact on my bank balance, which has been a subconscious incentive I suppose :/)

I've been eating around 1000 calories for at least 3 months, and it has worked. I've lost around 20kg (in 9 months not the 3!). But now I've reached 71kg and seem to be staying here...

Now I know you should never drop below 1200 calories, but I'm terrified that if i start eating more again I'll put weight on because my metabolism has slowed down so much from eating so little for so long. I want to continue losing weight....

Any advice/suggestions?

ps. This only makes it worse but I swim around 2000m twice a week as well.
Chubbiness
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
If you want to keep losing weight, which is a decision in itself, you only need a defecit of 500 or so calories, otherwise your body will go into starvation mode and the metabolism will slow down massively, causing you to retain fat. Starving yourself isn't going to accomplish anything.
Courtenayyy
Rep:
?
Yeah that's pretty much what I said.
And I genuinely don't feel like I'm starving myself, I just don't get hungry :/
Motorbiker
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I'd say up the calories slightly as 1000 is very low...

Also, are you doing resistance training(weights) as well as losing fat?
If you're not then you'll be losing muscle mass which will slow your metabolism further and then you could end up just skinny fat at the end if you don't lift at the same time...
Courtenayyy
Rep:
?