company law in 2nd year Watch

renjie
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
hey guys

i am a first year law student and i have to choose my modules for next year soon.
i'd like to take company law, but in the module description it says that it's not recommended for 2nd year.

i haven't had property yet, my first year modules were eu, public, contract and crim. do you think that company law can be successfully studied with no prior background in property?

and, more generally, how do you find company law? is it difficult? which subjects should one have studied before taking company law?

i'd be glad about some replies!
jacketpotato
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
The only subject you really need to have studied is contract, property is not needed.

I'd still not recommend it for 2nd years though, just because parts of it are difficult and it is technical. There are a lot of wrong answers in Company law and you have to refer to the Companies Act very closely. Technical skills take time to develop as people aren't used to using them at A-level. You also need to remember that standards differ depending on what year people take them, if its a 3rd year subject at your uni (like most) then higher standards will be expected than for a typical second year subject. That said, there's no reason why you can't take it in your second year and do well.
renjie
Rep:
?
(Original post by jacketpotato)
The only subject you really need to have studied is contract, property is not needed.