BO to FO Watch

khelan1991
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hey

I am currently a second year student at Aston university studying economics and management. As part of my degree I have to take a compulsory placement. I have been looking into banking and accountancy. Unfortunately not a lot of banks offer FO placements and one which did (Morgan Stanley) rejected me. I was also rejected by E&Y for corporate finance and got through to the interview stage with Deloitte for audit however they havent scheduled a date for the interview for over 4 months now because of a huge log of candidates.

The only offer I have is LLoyds banking group which is a marketing role. However I also have an interview with Goldman Sachs for operations and was just wondering if it is possible to move from BO to FO (trading in particular) bearing in mind that this is only a placement. I also need to complete the tests for Grant Thornton which i should get through and I am awaiting a reply from Accenture for my initial application.

If i got Grant thornton or accenture which one should i take out of Accenture, GT, GS and lloyds bearing in mind i want to work in trading.

Thank you
DeeDub
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Moving BO to FO in trading is very difficult. It happens but luck has a lot to do with it. The circumstances where I have heard of it happening are when a space opens up on a desk and they pull someone from either their trade support ops team or product control but that requires being in the right place in the right time and having a great relationship with the desk. It is probably more likely to happen on an derivatives desk due to the greater complexity and the advantage of someone with BO knowledge knowing how the desk operates. I wouldn't base my career on trying to make that move.