Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I would really like to join the RAF as a pilot, but I've recently read they are not training any new pilots this year. Is this true? And also, when do you think they will be taking on new pilots?
    Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12459901

This may be of some help to you.

ReputationRep:
    Mate still go for it, im no expert but pilots must retire every year i guess so they need new ones. Good luck if u go for it !!!

ReputationRep:
    yeah they dont just tell you no... you go on a list essentially!
    Ive been waiting 3 years (although not for pilot) and i start in 4 weeks tomorrow....
    do it

ReputationRep:
    speak to your local afco (armed forces careers office). they'll advise according to the trade/branch you wish to apply for.

ReputationRep:
    You can still register your interest - and start learning everything you'll need to know - but even if everything goes perfectly to plan, don't expect to start any sooner tha, probably, 2013.

If you're not doing/at it already, go to uni.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Drewski)
    You can still register your interest - and start learning everything you'll need to know - but even if everything goes perfectly to plan, don't expect to start any sooner tha, probably, 2013.

If you're not doing/at it already, go to uni.
    This.

At the moment and for the foreseeable future you (not personally) probably have more chance of winning the lottery than getting a seat in a fast jet.

ReputationRep:
    Pilot recruitment will be closed until at the very earliest April 2012 and will possibly remain closed for another year until April 2013.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by abby-mills)
    Hey, I would really like to join the RAF as a pilot, but I've recently read they are not training any new pilots this year. Is this true? And also, when do you think they will be taking on new pilots?
    Thanks.