Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Been pondering this for a while, saw the different opinions about how other Windows brands are more worth the money (cheaper, better specs, etc). I'm a Windows 7 user now (and it's pretty lovely) but I need a new laptop so...

Is a macbook (air/pro) a worthwhile investment if money isn't an issue? Would you get one, or would you go for other brands?

ReputationRep:
    Depends what you wanna use it for, the main issue with Mac's is the cost comparison, yes Mac's are suited to media based student, with some nice software to get you started. As an IT student i wouldnt have much use for a Mac unless it was to tear it down or do a comparison of some sort.

Cost aside, i wouldnt need one, if it was gifted to me i'd either keep it for a while or re-gift it to a friend or family member.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Spexzzz)
    Depends what you wanna use it for, the main issue with Mac's is the cost comparison, yes Mac's are suited to media based student, with some nice software to get you started. As an IT student i wouldnt have much use for a Mac unless it was to tear it down or do a comparison of some sort.

Cost aside, i wouldnt need one, if it was gifted to me i'd either keep it for a while or re-gift it to a friend or family member.
    The only way I'd consider the Air as a primary laptop is if I was given a no-limit allowance in the Apple Store and I could max out the processor and RAM, because only then are it's specs comparable to even the entry-level Pro, the point where I'd actually be bothered by its ultraportability.