Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Jogging: How am I supposed to breathe? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm a newbie jogger, decided I need to get some regular exercise - I'm average size but want to tone up a bit and increase my general fitness.

Basically once I start jogging, after about 20/30 meters my throat starts burning, then feels like it's closing up and I can't breathe. This usually comes with a horrible metallic taste in my mouth. I want to keep on moving, but have to stop to try and get some air. After a couple of minutes the feeling goes away, but will come back every time I jog.

I thought maybe I'm not breathing in the right rhythm when I run (I've found that if I sing when I run I can get further before I start to not be able to breathe), or am I just incredibly unfit?

Any advice would be appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    Seeing as you're just beginning I think the experts recommend you start off by alternating jogging and walking every minute or so, in order not to completely conk yourself out. Or maybe you have asthma or something? Might be worth going to the doctor to be on the safe side.

Try concentrating on breathing more deeply and evenly next time you run.

ReputationRep:
    I dunno about everyone else but i time by breathing whilst running by paces...

Normally in for 2 and out for 2....

But it sounds like you're just not fit enough to run for a decent length of time atm...

I'd say look up the couch to 5k plan and run that for 9 weeks and then you'll be able to run 5k without stopping at the end of it...

ReputationRep:
    I'm reasonably fit and after about 10 minutes of jogging I get that horrible burning feeling in my chest and the only thing I can do is walk for a few minutes! Try to take slightly deeper breaths and avoid short, panting breaths as it just makes it worse! It will get better as your stamina improves.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MHorman)