Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying for my AS in french, and was wondering if you guys had any recommendations for good french novels to read to try to improve my reading skills? Or Films for listening?

ReputationRep:
    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

ReputationRep:
    'La Haine' is pretty good. It focuses on poor areas of France, racism, multiculturalism etc and is great if you need something to study for the french speaking for A2 (if you continue it to A2). Amelie is another good film and probably the most internationally well known french films.

ReputationRep:
    la haine, indigenes, LOL (if you want a chicflick BUT amazing movie) AMELIE.

ReputationRep:
    I've made loads of posts similar to this recently, but I'll post it all again anyway.

For novels, I haven't read many so I don't have many recommendations. I love L'étranger by Albert Camus. It wasn't too difficult to understand despite the fact I'm certainly not amazing at French. Bonjour Tristesse is around the same level of difficulty, but I didn't like the plot to bother finishing it yet. Les Mains Sales is more difficult, but quite readable since it's a play and there are no massive walls of text.

Look on the A2 French literature syllabuses to find other novels that are good and readable enough.

As for films, I have loads of recommendations. What kind of films d'you like? Anyway, here's a long list of French films I've watched and enjoyed. I also find dubbed Disney films are useful for listening cos they're not too complicated and you know the plot, but maybe you'd prefer something more challenging.

Bienvenue ches les ch'tis.
    Hors de prix
    Amelie
    Jeux d'enfants
    Les Choristes
    L'Auberge Espagnole
    Hors de prix
    Le Gloire de mon pere
    Mon Meilleur Ami
    A La Folie... Pas Du Tout
    L'arnacœur
    Le Gloire de mon pere
    Taxi 1, 2, 3
    Le Roi Lion
    Les Aristochats