Turn on thread page Beta

Protein shakes, yay or nay? watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm 18 and I've been working out for about 18 months, so I'm no stranger to bodybuilding and weightlifting. However, I have recently started using protein shakes for the first time.

I never used to use them, I would make sure that my diet had a lot of protein instead. But this meant I would have to eat quite a lot of unwanted calories (I can't eat eggs or omelettes, which are fairly low-cal I believe).

I bought a tub of whey powder, with chocolate sweetener. I drink about 40g in the morning, usually with a glass of semi-skimmed milk (it tastes like a chocolate milkshake that way :ahee:), and I have another 40g after my workout (I go to the gym twice a week).

I have heard mixed views about protein supplements. I have heard things like they cause constipation if overused and things like kidney problems in the long term (not sure how true these claims are). I don't use them to replace a meal, only as a supplement. I am pretty muscular for my age, and since it is heard to bulk and cut at the same time I thought protein shakes would be ideal since they allow me to get a good amount of protein without eating too many calories.

My questions are:
    Are these kinds of rumours about protein shakes true?
    Do they help to maintain muscle as well as encourage muscle growth?
    Should I keep using them? (bearing in mind I want to add another few lbs of muscle, which is hard at the moment since I am in full time education and can't work out any more than twice a week).

I also practice martial arts twice a week, which involves a lot of punching/kicking etc. and the instructor gets us to do fitness exercises such as push ups and sit ups too. Would it be a good idea to have an extra dose of protein after martial arts sessions too?

ReputationRep: