Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I want a career change and I’m thinking about returning to university to do a Masters degree in order to initiate it. Why? Well I feel I have a useless degree which has no real job prospects, just fantasy ones!

The problem is, I don’t know which career/masters degree to choose? I know one thing though, I do not want to make the same mistake twice and end up doing another useless degree. The problem is of course, it is very easy to think your doing a great degree (due to university propaganda) but in reality your degree will not gain you any real-world jobs. Take the following example, university will say “Take an environment degree! Caring for the environment is very important and it is a fantastic career opportunity!” WRONG! This is not true! Environmental job do not exist! Perhaps in 20 years time, they might, but as of right now, they don’t! There exists no such job, search through job searching websites and I can guarantee you won’t find environment jobs! Because they don’t exist! The industry hasn’t developed yet and if you ask all sorts of businesses, there exists no such positions within their business for these matters! In other words, it is a pointless degree.

I’ve made this mistake once (with my degree-design) and I’m determined not to do it again (with a Masters/Career change). That’s why I know I have to chose a Masters that is practical with realistic jobs at the end of it! So far I’m thinking business style degrees, as these have real-world jobs at the end of it. But I need to do more research to make sure.

Your thoughts and views?

ReputationRep:
    In my opinion, there's not much point in doing a degree, especially a masters, if you don't have a real passion or drive for a subject. It costs so much money, and you still might not have any career plans at the end of it.

ReputationRep: