Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, 1st time posting here

I am currently in my final year at university and was planning on doin a masters next year and I have an interview for a summer internship in ops at morgan stanley (glasgow office). I know I'm jumping the gun here, but I like to have a plan! Assuming I got the internship and was offered a grad role, should I take it and put off doing a masters? See I really want to get into equity trading or research but have been unsuccessful in that. Is it possible to apply for grad schemes within the same organisation after completion of say the grad role in ops? From what I've heard, once your established in a back/middle office role it can be very difficult to move to a front office role.

ReputationRep:
    It is difficult if you start the graduate program in a BO position (almost impossible not difficult). It is more easy if you do just the internship, turn down the full time offer and reapply for fo (full time or internship).
    You should do the internship in the BO this summer and then during the master apply for FO internships...

ReputationRep:
    so its not possible even when the applicant has only completed a two year programme to try and get a position in FO? Its not like he is looking to be an experienced hire. Seeing that a masters takes a year ( i assume you'd be ineligible for for a summer internship the year of your masters due to time) and some can take even 2 years sometimes. I find it weird that its a deadend to be working in ops for two years (one more than the masters). He would have relevent banking experience, has no issue starting with all the others. Why would that not be a viable option?I've seen plenty of experienced hires from other banks apply to graduate programmes. Just would like some elaboration on the matter!

ReputationRep: