Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Hi,

I came out of college with top grades, but still felt undecided what I wanted to do. So my parents forced me into a degree, which I stated was useless for me, but they saw that uni is a golden ticket and said I had to go. I'm now in second year and want to get out of the degree and completely change my career goals. Problem they've taken all my money from day one, they forced me to go onto uni, but gave my only sister a year to think about what she wanted to do. I feel like I'm just a piggybank for them. I say it was unfair that she got a gap year to see what career she wanted. They blank me every time I say why didn't I get a gap year..

Any advice would be most appreciated on the situation, like would should I do? Say screw you and leave and take a part time job whilst re-doing career goals?

Regards

ReputationRep:
    Your almost near the finish-line just one more year left till you graduate, finish that (assuming ur doing a 3yr course), then choose what you actually want to do. A degree can't do any harm, and there's nothing soo worthwhile you could do in that one year really.
    So I would say bite your teeth and finish the degree, then go into whatever career you want, because a year will fly by.

What course you on?

ReputationRep:
    They've taken all your money? What? Why are you letting your parents do this. Leave uni if you want to and make your own life.

ReputationRep:
    Finish the degree. Then when you tell you're parents that you want to change career choice you can say that you gave their degree choice a go. If you quit now then you have noting to persuade your parents with.

ReputationRep:
    Would asking if you're Asian be a stupid question?

ReputationRep: