Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone!
    I'm planning to start IB this August.
    I know what subjects i want to study, and i like all of them.
    I know that IB is difficult and all, the portions are big etc. etc.
    What i dont know is the difficulty of internal assesments, the pressure of homework and different subjects, and whether my aims are possible.
    Read this while keeping in mind that i will also be doing various extra activities like rock climbing, orchestra and playing drums for 2 different bands.

Here are my choices:

Group 1: English A1 - SL - Aim : 5 to 6 : I am currently studying in the Indian Board (CBSE)
    and though we study literature and grammar (some literature pieces have been taught in IB i believe), we dont learn and interpret literature to such an extent.
    No 1000 word essays and commentries. Just basic understanding of the meanings and how they are expressed.

So will English hamper my performance... How are the IAs?

Group 2: Mandarin ab initio - SL - Aim : 6 : Im really interested in learning chinese, but i have no idea how its like. Especially the Oral assesments.

Group 3: Geography - SL - Aim : 7 : Im not too worried about this. CBSE Geography teaches you basic concepts and an understanding of the subject, plus i like it.
    Is it a time taking subject though?

Group 4: Physics - HL - Aim : 7 : I love physics, However CBSE physics is merged with the other sciences and thus covers less portion when compared to IGCSE.
    But we tend to learn in a bit more detail and and practise tricky questions.
    Will Physics be extremely difficult? Especially the option topics ( im choosing astrophysics and probably particle physics)

Group 5: Maths - HL - Aim : 7 : I tend to learn concepts easily. CBSE maths is quite tough, but like A levels, the exam is easy, as the questions are predictable.
    How are the IAs for maths?