The Student Room Group

What can I do to get into graduate entry medicine?

I'm in my last year of school. Predicted AAB, in English Language, Biology and Chemistry respectively (I am however aiming for an A in Chemistry). Last year I got an E or a U in maths. I did get an A at GCSE. I've applied to do Biochemistry. I never knew what I wanted to do, just that I enjoyed science and thought if I did biochemistry it would leave alot of doors open to me as well as being something I am interested in. I was always told I wouldn't have the grades or experience to get into medicine and it was too competitve for me so I never really looked to deeply into it. The past few months I've been looking at what I can do afterwards and to be honest the only one that appeals to me is medicine because I cannot see me being satisfied in the long term with a different career. I feel as though medicine will provide me with the most satisfaction and feeling of achievment and also that this feeling will last. I haven't worked that hard at A level and I'm a bit dissapointed as I know I could have done alot better. I literally didnt work for maths and only revised the morning before the exam which I regret so so much.

Of course this is just how I feel now and I realise once I get into university there is a possibility I might change although I doubt it. Things like business and law don't appeal to me and research seems like it would be ok for a while but I don't know if I could last a career in just doing research.

My only option to get into medicine now because of the situation I'm in is by doing this biochemistry degree (which I'm very interested in) and then applying for graduate entry medicine or perhaps a 5 year course. Graduate entry medicine is my ideal route because of cost and time. I know that GEM is very competitive though. I want to maximise my chances of getting in.