Turn on thread page Beta

Third University in 2 years and the implications with SLC/Student Finance watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi.

I thought I'd write this post becuase there doesn't really seem to be anything on this topic. And the thing that got me down through this entire thing was having no definitive information on where I stood.

I start Northumbria in September, I'm studying Law and Enviroment. I'm from Newcastle so it's just going to be so much easier in terms of finance.

Originally I studied Politics at QMUL, but after a friend died and a range of other personal problems I decided to transfer to LSBU and study Architecture. The course was okay, the uni was okay but I just didn't want to be back in London. So I left and moved back home. Now anyone who's tried to live in London knows how horrible it can be when money is so little. It's all I ever thought about and it affected everything.

So anyway having left I applied to a University closer to home and got an offer that I accepted. The next issue was contacting Student Finance of my withdrawal and where I stood with future funding. I've learned alot. So here's everything you will need to know.. If you fall into a similar situation.

- If you're on a 3 year course: You get 3 years of funding plus 1 extra (incase you need to resit). If it's a 4 year course it's 5.
    - Thus, if you've had 2 years of funding you're only entitled to another 2 years. And to make it so that you don't get your third year and find you have no funding.. They count it backwards.. Thrid year, second year. So you have to cover the costs of First year yourself. Hence why moving back home is the best possible solution. Unless you work part time or something.