Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Council Tax Exempt Notice watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I've been tenant in a property for 1.5 years and have 1.5 years to go (that I want to stay here) I'm a full time student. However, now I got this notice:

"The above property is in the Council Tax valuation list with a band of B, and the charge for the period 1 April 2011 to 31 March 2012 would therefore be 1227.19GBP.

However, because the property is in Exempt Class N
    (ALL FULL-TIME STUDENT OCCUPIERS), no charge is currently payable.

The above exemption may only apply for a limited period, and if this expires during the current financial year, a Council Tax bill will be issued.

Further details regarding exemptions and exempt periods can be found in the Exempt Dwellings leaflet."

--------------

what the hell? So quite bluntly, I don't understand anything they just said in there. Can I live in here without having to pay ridiculous charges before I move out in 1.5 years or not? And would I actually be the one to pay it or my landlord or agent?

Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    What do you expect them to be like in a legal notice?
    As long as everyone in the house is a student then no council tax is payable. If one tenant works it becomes payable by the tenants not the landlord.

ReputationRep: