Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    How difficult is it to get on these programmes to train new teachers?

I am applying for a Primary place.

Does anyone know how many applicants for places they have generally? Or what type of people they recruit?

thanks

ReputationRep:
    It is incredibly competitive, I have applied 2 years running and have failed to get an interview even though I have a really good school supporting me and quite a lot of experience. I am applying for secondary though and my subject isnt in demand. I think there are generally more primary places available but it is still incredibly hard to get on to. You will need to have lots of school experience.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks Katie. I have a lot of experience in schools, a year volunteering and working here and there, mainly Primary. But I still don't think it will be enough. I think the sheer number of applicants, will preclude anyone but the best graduates with outstanding degree results etc :cool:

I couldn't get on the PGCE Primary I applied for and I really wanted to be a primary teacher. As far as I am aware, there are no other routes into Primary teaching so I guess I won't be going into teaching after all - which is a bit of a shame as I spent a year preparing for it!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DjGrizzlyPaws)
    Thanks Katie. I have a lot of experience in schools, a year volunteering and working here and there, mainly Primary. But I still don't think it will be enough. I think the sheer number of applicants, will preclude anyone but the best graduates with outstanding degree results etc :cool:

I couldn't get on the PGCE Primary I applied for and I really wanted to be a primary teacher. As far as I am aware, there are no other routes into Primary teaching so I guess I won't be going into teaching after all - which is a bit of a shame as I spent a year preparing for it!