Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Will an MSc improve my chances of getting into an Investment Bank? (back office) watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I graduated uni last summer with a 2:1 from University of Liverpool in Anatomy and Human Biology. After I graduated I got a job in pharmaceutical advertising as an Account Executive. After 5 months of that job we decided it wasn't working (because I wanted to be an Investment Banker).

I have 8A*s and 2 As GCSES. Unfortunately one of the As is in Maths.
    My A Levels were only BAB and in Biology, English and French respectively.

My degree is brilliant (Liverpool is respected for medicine and almost everyone from my course went on to do graduate-entry medicine or dentistry) but because it isn't economics, maths or finance it puts me at a disadvantage for IB. Plus my pre-uni grades are good but not high enough for IB.

I am considering doing an MSc in Finance or Economics to improve my chances of breaking into the industry. If I study a relevant masters , will it realistically improve my chances of getting in? I want to get into the BACK office off a bulge bracket, not the front. Will doing a masters help me or will they hold my pre-masters background against me? I don't wanna waste my time and money

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    After spending £20-25k on an MSc Finance how are you going to convince them that you want to work in BO?

ReputationRep:
    Don't do a masters, there is no need. I'd ring them up/email them and to tell them your situation and ask about how best to apply since you've already left, although you might still be eligible for some grad scheme, I don't know.

Either way, your qualified enough for back office how it is.

ReputationRep:
    He is qualified enough also for FO...
    An MSc will give you more time and opportunities to apply for the position that you want. If the money is the problem, lot at dutch universities...

ReputationRep: