Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I know TSR is not the best place to ask for help, but I've got nobody else to talk to.

I've been battling moderate to serious depression for more than three years. It's come to the point where I've started having genuine suicidal thoughts. I'm in my 2nd year and I want to drop out of uni, but if I do, there's essentially no return because I've dropped out once before, and wouldn't be able to afford funding if I want to complete my degree a few years down the road.

I never thought it would get this bad. I hardly leave my house, let alone my bed. I sleep for as much as 16 hours a day. I eat junk food because I don't want to deal with seeing my flatmates. I cry all the time. I don't remember the last time I was happy. I'm scared I'm going to do something stupid.

I'm on the brink of failing my course. I was supposed to hand in coursework nearly a week ago and I haven't even started it, even though I'm being penalised 5% for every late day. I don't even want to study this course; I spoke to my tutor about it last term and she convinced me to switch from a respected degree to a lesser degree with a lighter workload, which I have done. Now I regret it so much. At least before the work was worth something. Now I feel like this is all pointless. I can't even transfer to a uni closer to home because my grades have been so bad (averaging 50% on a good day).

There is pressure on me because I'm the first to go to uni. I feel like I have to get a degree if I stand a chance getting a decent job.