Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone.

Has anyone applied and got admitted for PhD in US after studying Master's in UK ?

I will be doing Master's in UK this Fall and want to apply for PhD in US so I started studying my GRE since I need to apply for admission for 2012 this year itself.

The program will end in July or August and I am not sure if American universities will accept my final transcript that late.

Any suggestions or guidance is very much appreciated and Thank you in advance.

ReputationRep:
    I'm interested in doing this too.. but don't American PhD programs make you do the full 6-7 years, completing their own Masters requirements along the way, even if you have one already? Or is it possible to skip the first year?

ReputationRep:
    Well that is first time I heard that. I won't mind doing it if I am able to get some sort of scholarship.

ReputationRep:
    Sometimes it is possible to skip a year or two by having a masters, sometimes not. It depends on the masters and the PhD programme.

ReputationRep:
    I spoke to Univ of Virginia and Vanderbilt, they said admission can be given on performance however the final decision will be made in august.

Mind you the deadline will be Jan 15th 2012. So I will be having first semester results, GRE,TOEFL scores and hopefully recommendation letters.

ReputationRep:
    This is very common. In some areas (e.g. economics) the top UK masters are stronger than the US (and many top US universities don't offer terminal masters courses).