Applying to UK Uni with CIE A levels and EU passport Watch

vierstein
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 13 years ago
Hi, I'm looking for some help/information about applying to Universities in the United Kingdom with Cambridge International Examination A levels.

I'm In New Zealand at the moment doing my A levels. the school year here finishes at the end of the year (I've just finished my AS year), next year I'll be doing A levels, and then I'm hoping to go to the UK to University. Could I just come there and apply to Universities in the half year gap that I'd have between the two academic years?
Now I've got a EU (German) passport , does that mean I'm still an international student, do i get any benefits?

Also how many A levels do you need? My school recommends students to do 2 A2's and 2 AS's in their final year, though some people do all four subjects A2's. I signed up to do 3A2's and 1 AS next year, and I've already done my Maths A level.
I'm thinking of applying to commerce, should I have a Business Studies A level?

Thanks for any help.
-V
Iscariot
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 13 years ago
I did CIE A-levels and just did 3 straight A-levels, and to be honest I don't think I could have done another AS on top of it unless I did it in a pointless, easy subject.
santogold
Badges: 14
Report 13 years ago
If you have lived outside of the EU/EEA for more than 3 years, you are classified as an international student. However, if the reason for the stay outside was full-time education (in other words, if you have lived in Germany or the EU/EEA before) there may be a way around it.
Contact the DFES or the universities !
vierstein
Rep:
?
OK thanks for your help I looked at the DFES website and couldn't find what I needed or any contact addresses, but I'll take a closer look tomorow.
I did live in Germany before I came to new zealand 7 years ago so hopefully that workaround will work.