This discussion is closed.
Danithestudent
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
I am a third year A-Levels student taking a gap year to further my A-Levels in subjects I haven't taken since GCSE in order to give me a better all round education.
My college over the summer holidays decided with the local council in order to get a reduction on travel costs you have to apply via the college to the Local Education Authority to send you a card via the Internet to entitle you to save 1/3 on your train fare to and from college.
I applied for this and was rejected because I've already got some A-Levels and because of this I'm not allowed to buy a monthly or weekly ticket but a ticket each day which amounts to £4.20 per day to go and study.
There are people at my college that are in their 20's and 30's that have literally been trying to pass A-Levels since they finished their GCSE's and in some cases 'O'-Levels. They all get help with the train fares.
My family's income is £12,000 a year after tax.
Is this fair or unfair because each day £4.20 comes out of MY not my parents by my OWN pocket from working, to pay to go to college. This is money I should be saving for University and I have to pay it out to get to college because they think it's necessary for me to pay the full whack.
El_Borish
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
£4.20 is a lot, but the council would probably just say "go somewhere closer, there are people more needy of the help than you"

not saying i agree with them mind, reminds me of the postcode lottery talk about hospitals
Danithestudent
Rep:
?
(Original post by El_Borish)
£4.20 is a lot, but the council would probably just say "go somewhere closer, there are people more needy of the help than you"

not saying i agree with them mind, reminds me of the postcode lottery talk about hospitals
The ironic thing it's the closest place to me....
El_Borish
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by Danithestudent)